Powered by Citynet
West Virginia Network




West Virginia Gun Hunting and Fishing. Great Outdoor vacation guide for WV! West Virginia Gun Hunting and Fishing. Great Outdoor vacation guide for WV! West Virginia Gun Hunting and Fishing. Great Outdoor vacation guide for WV!
West Virginia Gun Hunting and Fishing. Great Outdoor vacation guide for WV! West Virginia Gun Hunting and Fishing. Great Outdoor vacation guide for WV! West Virginia Gun Hunting and Fishing. Great Outdoor vacation guide for WV!
Request A Brochure



2013 - 2014 Pistol Laws & Regulations


Only persons 21 years old or older are eligible for a Class A-1 license. A Class A-1 license entitles the licensee to hunt with a pistol having a barrel at least 4 inches in length. While hunting, the licensee shall carry the pistol outside his outer clothing, in an unconcealed and easily visible place. A pistol may be used only during established hunting seasons; except during muzzleloading sea- son. It is legal to hunt groundhogs in open fields with a pistol. It is illegal to:
  • take migratory game birds with a pistol.
  • hunt between 1/2 hour after sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise with a pistol larger than .22 caliber.
  • hunt bear, deer, or wild boar with a pistol using a straight-walled case of less than .357 magnum cartridge or a bottle-necked case of less than .24 caliber.
  • hunt bear, deer, or wild boar with a muzzleloading pistol of less than .38 caliber.

Back to Regulations Page



Equipment  ::   Hunting & Fishing Trips ::  Hunting & Fishing Clubs ::  Lodging  ::   Bookstore  ::   Calendar  ::   Postcard  ::   Weather  ::   News  ::   Game Harvests
Wildlife Viewing  ::   Fishing Waters  ::   Licenses & Permits  ::   Regulations  ::   Education & Safety  ::   Shooting Ranges  ::   Faq's  ::   Site Map

Purchase Hunting License  ::  Purchase Fishing License  ::  Lost hunter education card?

Questions about this site?     Want to advertise on this site?

© 2014 WVSportsmen.com. Site design and hosting courtesy of Citynet.